jenapprovedrecipes

Just another WordPress.com site

Tuna Croquettes

tuna croquettesWhen I make these for my kids, I don’t call them Tuna Croquettes. They are just “Croquettes.” Sometimes they refer to them as chicken, and I pretend like I don’t hear them. I just know the second they find out they are eating tuna, they won’t be eating these anymore.  In the meantime, this is a sure-fire hit with the kiddos, and I like them too!

The Ingredients:

  • a can of white albacore tuna (in water)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • approximately 3/4 cup of bread crumbs (I eyeball it and base the amount on the overall consistency)
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

The Instructions:

1. Drain the tuna. If you have a cat, he/she will be there immediately. I give the water to my kitties because I am nice.
2. Combine the tuna with the beaten eggs and bread crumbs in a medium-sized bowl. Get your hands in there and moosh. If it feels too wet, add more breadcrumbs. Season with a pinch of salt and some fresh ground pepper.
3. In a skillet, heat olive oil (enough to coat the bottom of your skillet) over medium heat.
4. Shape your tuna/breadcrumb mixture into small hockey puck-type croquettes.
5. When the oil is hot, place croquettes in the skillet and  cook 2 to 3 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.
6. Remove croquettes and place on a cooling rack with paper towels underneath (to catch any excess oil)

This will feed my kids and I. If I was going to try to feed another adult, I would double the amount of tuna and add 1 egg. You’ll have to feel for the breadcrumbs. You’ll know when you do it. You want the mixture to stick together and not fall apart in the pan, but you don’t want it to be too dry.

My kids pick these up in their hands and dip them in ketchup. Michael will eat them topped with cheese and hot sauce. I’ve done both, but you can also serve them on top of a bed of greens with a splash of your favorite salad dressing. Or, on a bun like a sandwich.

One response to “Tuna Croquettes

  1. ~~~Aunt Laurie February 16, 2011 at 3:53 am

    I always add lemon juice to my tuna. Gives it a bit of a tang!
    My Mom (your Grandma) used to make salmon croquettes. Yum!!! :o)

Leave a Reply

